make it free or fail – a real world test (launch day)

January 21, 2011

Over the next couple of weeks I will be running a real-world test to determine a conclusion to my ‘make it free or fail’ post. I will be using my latest project, TapType, as a kind of test dummy. TapType is an exciting new virtual keyboard for Windows (kind of like an iPad keyboard for Windows tablets).

Today I will be launching TapType, so my ‘make it free or fail’ test begins! Initially, I will be launching TapType as a pay-only product, at a $19.99 price point. By doing that, I’m intending to find a kind of ‘control’ result in terms of purchase numbers. Obviously the results initially will be skewed due to a launch-week spike in interest, so I’ll only be using results after the numbers level out.

I will eventually change this into a ‘freemium’ style system with a free version available, as you can see on the homepage.

Stay tuned for updates on the initial results! You can follow me on Twitter here, or subscribe to my blog.

Leave a Reply

